Taking the plunge…

In a few hours, I will be hopping on a plane to fly roughly 8300 miles around the world. Now that the day is finally here, I’m not entirely sure how I feel, although one adjective probably isn’t entirely sufficient.

Excited? Hell yea! As amazing as San Francisco is (and I fully intend on returning one day), I’ve been daydreaming about living and working abroad since before I even graduated college. Never did I ever think I would be going to India of all places, but hey, one thing I’ve learned post-college is sometimes you just gotta roll with the punches.

Nervous? A little bit. I’m going to be doing work I have zero experience in, in an environment I also have zero experience in. What if I’m no good?

Worried? Every time I mention to someone I’m going to India, undoubtedly the first two things he or she says are: “DONT DRINK THE WATER”, and “It’s really dirty over there”. Yea…that’s cool. I’ll bring some Iodine tablets, hold my nose and watch where I step if need be. What I am worried about are:

1. The weather – Having spent essentially my entire life in either the Bay or Santa Barbara, I am a pretty big pansy when it comes to heat/humidity. But hey, maybe I’ll sweat off all the post-college-corporate-america-induced pounds!

2. Sports – I know nothing about cricket. Zero. Please let there be a basketball court somewhere in my city/town/village and if not, at least please let me have internet fast enough  to illegally stream american sports.

3. HOW AM I GOING TO GO NEARLY AN ENTIRE YEAR WITHOUT EATING BEEF!!!

Nostalgic? Already? Yea I know…

The past 3 and a half weeks have been a blur. However, between preparing for my upcoming assignment and being my 5 year old sister’s personal chauffeur, I’ve been able to spend some great quality time with family and friends. It’s made me really appreciate the wonderful people I have in my life and fully realize the one thing I will most likely miss about being home is my relationships and experiences with these people. Hopefully, with Gchat, Whatsapp, FaceTime…etc, it won’t be so bad.

Surreal? It still feels a bit like being in a dream. Something you dream about doing and experiencing one day…and for that day to actually be here…woah

Leave a comment